Heroine, mixing memory and desire

“Cunning is what counts in this life, Cristian, and even that you’ve got to use in the slyest way you can,” Alan Sillitoe once said to me.
“Possibly. But reflecting on the loneliness of the long-distance runner, I’m thinking about the magic bullet perspective, the hypodermic needle, ” I gloomily answered.

“Are you totally out of joint? What do you want to do with yourself?!” Alan barked his words as a sheep-dog.
” Live, I suppose, see what happens”, and I quickly answered Alan cause he sometimes can have a sharp fang. “It’s not too late”, I ruminated my last words. And I was bravely of myself in those days, day in day out, nightly, and answering Alan as a little wolf in sheep’s clothing.

(Our hero finds his inner peace).

 

Richard Lester, Petulia, UK/USA, 1968.

John Schlesinger, Billy Liar, UK, 1963.

Yo La Tengo, Tom Courtenay [EP], 1995.

Alan Sillitoe, The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Runner, Plume, 1992.

Leave a Reply

